And Then it’s Spring

Title: And then it’s Spring
Author: Julie Fogliano
Illustrator: Erin E Stead
Publisher: Roaring Brook Press (2012)
ISBN: 9781596436244
“First you have brown, all around you have brown.” A boy, along with his companions (a dog, turtle, bird and rabbit) plant seeds in the brown earth of winter. As the seasons change they check on the seeds and wait. The boy imagines birds eating the seeds or bears stomping on them – “please do not stomp here— there are seeds and they are trying.” As spring arrives the boy’s patience is rewarded with green shoots and the colour of spring all around him.
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin

Buy The Book

*Disclosure: Amazon, Book and Depository buttons are affiliate links. I will earn a small percentage of any purchases made. It won’t cost you anything!


These resources relate to the book, author and illustrator. The number of resources varies book to book. Please check they are appropriate for your specific needs before using them with children. If you have suggestions please get in touch!

Green Education Foundation: Milk Carton Bird Feeder
National Geographic Kids: All About Spring! video playlist 
Royal Society for the Protection of Birds: ’Spot It!’ Seasonal Resource Sheet (Plants, birds, insects, nuts, berries, etc)
Julie Fogliano Twitter
Erin E. Stead Official Website

More Books by Julie Fogliano & Erin E Stead

More Books to Explore

The Children’s Library Lady has over 450 picture books on large variety of topics. You will find specific book, author and illustrator information, as well as resources. You can also browse themed books lists and explore all the books on the website. Click on the book covers below to start exploring what the website has to offer.

Parent Book List, Parent Book List, Parent Book List, Parent Book List